Take a walk around the block. No, seriously.

Walking Men

Pedestrian traffic icons from around the world. Part of Maya Barkai's public art installation, Walking Men.

My last blog post on rituals seemed to strike a chord with a lot of you, which doesn’t surprise me in the least. Whenever I introduce the idea to clients of mine, they almost universally take to it with much enthusiasm. I think that part of the reason for this is that rituals are simple in concept, yet hold great resonance when applied to your life. What’s not to love?

As a follow-up, I want to share with you a grounding ritual that I used to give as an assignment in one of my classes. Let me tell you, it was always a big hit. Again, on its surface, it doesn’t seem like much (the basis of it is a walk around the block), but the shift in focus that it creates tends to surprise people. It’s something that I still do on a regular basis when I need to ground myself, and I’d love for everyone reading this to give it a try and see what happens.

So, to do this, pretend that you’ve arrived at my virtual classroom, and on the chalkboard are the following instructions for a silent walking meditation. If you’re able to do this right now, go for it. If you’re reading this while you’re busy doing something else, or you simply don’t have 10 minutes to spare right now, I suggest you print out this blog post and find 10 minutes in the next day to give it a go. In either case, just give it a try – I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the results.

GROUNDING RITUAL: SILENT WALKING MEDITATION

  1. Follow these instructions IN SILENCE
  2. You are going to walk around the block in your own time TWICE.
  3. For the first lap around the block, I want you to purposely think about whatever is on your mind. Let the chatter and the voices run free and rant during the first lap around the block.
  4. For the second lap, I want you to let go of ALL thoughts and be as present as possible. Check in with all of your senses—notice everything around you: the sounds, smells, sights, even touch a building or notice if someone brushes past you. Make sure you take at least 10 conscious breaths during this second lap. Stay present and silent as you make your way back inside.
  5. Get out a pen and paper and free write about what you experienced. Use the following questions to get started:
    a. What was the difference for you between the two laps around the block?
    b. What did you find challenging?
    c. What did you enjoy?
    d. How did you like this ritual?
    e. What did you learn?

Leave a comment on this blog sharing any or all of your answers to the questions above. I can’t wait to hear about your experience with this ritual. Have fun!

2 thoughts on “Take a walk around the block. No, seriously.

  1. I had this moment halfway through my 2nd walk where I felt like I was discovering everything around me – and that exciting newness, like when you’re exploring on a vacation to a place you’ve never been. And a feeling of gratitude crept in – for being alive, for being able to experience the world around me. I have to say I anticipated what the change of mindset would bring on the 2nd walk – but the depth of feeling that crept in surprised me. LOVED it.

  2. This is what I love to hear, Tony! Isn’t it amazing how your experience of something as mundane as a walk around the block changes simply by shifting your focus? It’s a big return on such a small investment.

Leave a comment